Home Page


Welcome to the curriculum section of the website. In this section you will find:

What is the National Curriculum?


State schools in England must teach a range of subjects according to targets set by the National Curriculum. This was established in 1989 to ensure the same standards of teaching and learning across the nation.


The National Curriculum covers learning for all children aged 5-16 in state schools, and sets out:


  • which subjects should be taught
  • the knowledge, skills and understanding your child should achieve in each subject (according to your child’s age)
  • targets - so teachers can measure how well your child is doing in each subject

What are the Key Stages?

The National Curriculum is divided into four Key Stages that children are taken through during their school life. For example, Key Stage 1 is taught during Years 1 and 2 of primary school. Targets defined in the National Curriculum are assessed at the end of each Key Stage.


The four Key Stages

Key Stage 1         Ages 5-7               Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 2         Ages 7-11            Years 3, 4, 5 and 6

Key Stage 3         Ages 11-14          Years 7, 8 and 9

Key Stage 4         Ages 14-16          Years 10 and 11

What are programmes of study?

Programmes of study set out what teachers should cover in every subject during each Key Stage

Click the links below to find information about the curriculum, spellings and end of year expectations for all year groups.