Home Page

Bourne Education Trust

Bourne Education Trust (‘BET’) is a Surrey and Hampshire based multi-academy trust made up of sixteen schools, across both primary and secondary phases.


Specialising in supporting schools to improve their performance, BET focusses relentlessly on standards to guide, and, where necessary, intervene to ensure the best outcomes for all learners within its schools.


Led by Alex Russell, CEO and supported by an executive team and board of directors, the Trust’s main areas of expertise are as follows:


  • Increasing leadership capacity and rebuilding confidence
  • Setting the strategic priorities for schools and creating an aspirational culture
  • Supporting current leadership teams to implement change
  • Refining the school’s data tracking systems so that intervention is targeted, appropriate and makes a difference
  • Improving the quality of teaching through school to school support, paired observations, bespoke training and the use of outstanding practitioners
  • Increasing the skills of teaching assistants so that in class provision and small group work supports progress
  • Challenging underperformance and closing the gap
  • Ensuring that no child slips through the net.


The Trust is characterised by quality leadership and governance, teaching and learning, and strong outcomes. It is efficient and cost-effective to free up resources for the front line. BET’s priority is its schools.



Read more about the Bourne Education Trust here


Trust Leaders


Sara Lipscombe   Chair of the Board
Alex Russell   Chief Executive Officer
Kate Sanders   Chief Operating Officer
Audrey Wade   Chair of Audit and Finance Committee
Chris Munro   Chair of Performance and Standards Committee
Sarah Pittam   Chair HR & Remuneration Committee
Roger Evans   Clerk to the Board


Board of Directors


Sara Lipscombe - Chair of the Board    Alex Russell, CEO
Chris Munro    Sarah Pittam
Chris Marston    Audrey Wade
Susan Gibbin    Charmain Browning
Peter Deane    Stephen Dennison


Board Members

Tony Oakden

David Burr

John Stockley

The board meets regularly and all schools in the trust are held to account for their performance against pre-agreed key performance indicators. The philosophies that underpin the trust are those based on partnership and collaboration. We want to ensure that all children receive a first class education and that the professionals working in our schools are well equipped to deliver this. We believe that the best way to achieve this is by working together in an open and honest culture, where no stone is left unturned in our quest to deliver an outstanding provision to the children across the trust.




As the Trust expands, we aim to have our schools grouped together in clusters of around five academies. These clusters are arranged according to both strategic and geographical areas. Clusters provide strategic partnerships to facilitate and deliver our core purpose of ensuring outstanding outcomes for pupils and students.


Core functions of Clusters

  • To provide consistency of expectation, resourcing and a vehicle for quality assurance across the Trust.
  • To provide a school led accountability and improvement system - to empower school leaders to drive change and improvement right into the heart of the schools within the Trust rather than a top down approach.
  • To deliver and provide rigor to the Trust’s development plan and assist in the delivery of the plan to improve outcomes for children.
  • To empower middle leaders and help promote and develop networks to enable school leaders to work in unison, and to deepen the Trust’s talent pool.
  • To facilitate peer to peer coaching support for staff. 
  • To facilitate the building of effective partnerships with parents, carers, communities, businesses and other stakeholders.


Intended Impact

  • The schools within a cluster will have a collective ambition to support and challenge each other, ensuring a consistent drive to improve and add value to pupil outcomes.
  • A fast, fluid, flexible, and highly skilled, staffing structure is developed across the Trust.
  • The cluster facilitates the sharing of data, excellent practice and consistently challenges practitioners to deliver one of the Trust’s key principles: to be transparent, generous, supportive and honest in how we work with each other.


Cluster structure

The Trust has initially established three clusters – Epsom, Chertsey, Addlestone & Staines (‘CAS’) and Woking. In the future, we will build a new cluster in Hampshire to include Everest Community Academy. The schools are currently grouped as follows:






Auriol Junior School

Epsom and Ewell High School

Meadow Primary School

West Ewell Primary School

Woodmansterne Primary School

Chertsey High School

Jubilee High School

Pyrcroft Grange Primary School

Sayes Court Primary School

The Matthew Arnold School

Broadmere Primary School

Brookwood Primary School

Everest Community Academy

New Monument Primary School

Sythwood Primary School


The executive leaders for the clusters are Gayle Jenkins and Steve Price.